16. 13
What Are We Playing For?
Impact is Measurable and Significant
Total Conversion Rate: 2.7%
Best Case Conversion Rate: 4.9%
Conversion Gap: 2.2%
Visits: 25M
AOV: $100
17. 14
What Are We Playing For?
Impact is Measurable and Significant
(4.9% - 2.7%) * 25M * $100 =
$55M
18. 15
What Are We Playing For?
Impact is Measurable and Significant
1 second = $55M
20. 12
Potential vs Realistic Goals
Impossible to achieve ideal speed at 100th percentile
Median Load Time: 4.12s
Total Conversion Rate: 2.7%
Conversion Rate @ 3.0s: 4.9%
21. 13
Refining Performance Goals
We can make these more realistic and iterative
Target Load Time: 4 sec (vs 3 sec)
Percentile at 4 sec: 49
Target Percentile: 60th
Percentile Gap: 11%
22. 14
What Are We Playing For?
Impact is Measurable and Significant
(4.9% - 2.7%) * (11% * 25M) * $100 = $6M
27. 8
Customer Spotlight - Staples
Performance improvements lead to business gains
mPulse data led to changes in JavaScript, CSS
Reduced JavaScript size by 48%
Refactored CSS, reduced size by 83%
Shaved 1 full second off of Home page median load time
Shaved 6 seconds off the 98th percentile
Conversion improved by 10%