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@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
A Content Formula For
Complex B2B Organizations
Build the Business Case | Find the Budget | Measure ROI
Michael Brenner
CEO, Marketing Insider Group
Author, The Content Formula
@BrennerMichael
@BrennerMichael • #CMWorld
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
① Build the Business Case for Content Marketing
② Find the Budget for Content Marketing
③ Measure Content Marketing ROI in Business Terms
@BrennerMichael @VelocityTweets #CMWorld
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
1 Build The Business Case
@BrennerMichael • #CMWorld
Build the Business Case | Find the Budget | Measure ROI
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
CEOs and Boards
will no longer
accept marketing
that doesn’t deliver
business results!
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
ROI is the #1 objective for
B2B Marketers in 2016
B2B CMO’s greatest
challenge is showing
measurable ROI.
B2B Marketers: measuring
marketing effectiveness is their
greatest challenge
93%
~AdAge
81%
~CMI / MProfs
Marketing Has A
Marketing Problem
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
What is the ROI?
The First Banner Ad
(1994)
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Less likely
to click on a
banner than…
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
What’s The
ROI of Your
Marketing
Overall?
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
The Explosion of
Marketing Channels
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Marketers Love Buying Tactics
But Winter is Coming!
Millennial Content Discovery PatternsEmail, Search, Social =
81% of Content Discovery in 2016.
Source:
KoMarketing Associates
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Content Marketing Means Creating Content
People Actually Want
Content
Marketing
What
Brands
Publish
What
Customers
Want
Business Instinct CharityEmpathy
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Reach early
stage buyers
Engage new buyers
with your brand
Conversions you would
have never reached
= $
Build The Business Case
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
How Large is the Audience?
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
How Much Unbranded Traffic Do You Get?
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
How Much Early-Stage Search Traffic
Comes To Your Website?
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
CONTENT MARKETING
Articles
News
Infographics
Social Content
Quizzes
Video
Whitepapers
Webinars
Podcasts
How-To Guides
Events
Newsletters
Customer Profiles
PRODUCT MARKETING
Product content
Offers
Brochures
Customer Testimonials
Case studies
Ads
Are You Creating Content People Actually Want?
100
1
10
5
15
80
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Early-stage Searches
Middle-stage
Brand Searches
Search/SocialVolume
What is Content Marketing?
(100 - 3000 X)
How do I succeed with
Content Marketing?
(2-10 X)
What tools can help
me with content
marketing?
(1)
Are You Answering Your Customers’ Questions?
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
If The Math Isn’t Working
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Try Fear (and Love)
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
IMAGINE: You show up first in Google
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
IMAGINE: You own the category
www.makeup.com -- (owned by L’Oreal)
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
IMAGINE: You own the target audience
www.CMO.com -- owned by Adobe
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
IMAGINE: Marketing that attracts new buyers
AMEX OPEN Forum is the largest source of new leads for AMEX’s Small Business Division
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Reach early
stage buyers
Engage new buyers
with your brand
Conversions you would
have never reached
= $
Build The Business Case
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
2 Find The Budget
@BrennerMichael • #CMWorld
Build the Business Case | Find the Budget | Measure ROI
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
60-70% of marketing content
goes completely unused.
*Sirius Decisions
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Behind every piece
of bad content
is an executive
who asked for it.
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
The Easiest Way To
Find Budget For Content
Marketing . . .
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
STOP Creating
Content / Ads
No One Wants
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Excuse me boss but. . .
Why does this matter?
What is the impact?
How will it be measured?
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
CONTENT MARKETING
Articles
News
Infographics
Social Content
Quizzes
Video
Whitepapers
Webinars
Podcasts
How-To Guides
Events
Newsletters
Customer Profiles
PRODUCT MARKETING
Product content
Offers
Brochures
Customer Testimonials
Case studies
Ads
Are You Creating Content People Actually Want?
100
1
10
5
15
80
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Content
Used…
Content
Not
Used…
Content Waste is a
$100 Billion Opportunity*
* Source: Econsultancy
= $
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Which Marketing Programs Produce Zero
Measurable Results?
=$
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
The average click-through rate of display ads
(DoubleClick).06%
10% Banner ad clicks by Bots
(comScore)
50% Clicks on mobile ads that are accidental
(GoldSpot)
What Can We Stop? Banner Ads?
-40% Over-exposed online ads cause sales to DECLINE
(Advertising Research Foundation)
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because
You Don’t Rank Organically?
=$
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
How To Do
Content Marketing
Without A Budget?
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
What is
“Guerilla”
Marketing?
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
• Executive PowerPoints
• Whitepapers
• Customer Service and Sales FAQs
• Your emails = answers
• Cover competitor and industry research, video, infographics
• Ask 2nd-tier influencers to share their work
• Create a list of top influencers, best conferences, best quotes, best stats
How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Show me the money!
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
3 Measure ROI
@BrennerMichael • #CMWorld
Build the Business Case | Find the Budget | Measure ROI
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Maturity Audiences Only!
Publish content to
primary channel
Distribute content
to earned media
Distribute content
to paid media
Measure ROI of
content marketing
Optimize and target
distribution
Optimize for
subscriptions
& offers
Marketing ROI
is the #1 Objective
for Marketers in 2016
Documented
content marketing
strategy
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
http://marketinginsidergroup.com/content-marketing/best-content-marketing-hub-examples/
The Difference Between “Content”
and “Content Marketing” is the Destination
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
WARNING!
Math ahead!
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Content Marketing programs
are assets with real value that
compounds over time.
Need proof . . .
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
-
100,000
200,000
300,000
400,000
500,000
600,000
0
100
200
300
400
500
600
Sep-14 Oct-14 Nov-14 Dec-14 Jan-15 Feb-15 Mar-15 Apr-15 May-15 Jun-15
Pageviews
#Articles
COMPOUNDING RETURN OF CONTENT
MARKETING
________ Leads
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
SAP Digitalist Mag Gets More Engagement Than Fortune,
Fast Company and more…
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
0
5,000
10,000
15,000
20,000
25,000
30,000
35,000
Organic Traffic / Social Traffic / Leads
Reach, Engagement, Conversion
You Would Have Never Seen
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Advertising Partnership Can Fund Content Marketing
Saved / invested in content marketing platform
$100,000 / $100,000
Reach, Engagement and LEADS SAP would have
never seen.
1,000,000 Organic Visitors
10,000 Subscribers
1,000 Leads
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
ROI =
Investment
Return
What is ROI?
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
ROI =
Investment
(Revenue – Investment)
What is ROI?
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
ROI =
Investment
(Revenue – Investment)
What is ROI?
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
ROI =
With Less
Do More
What is ROI?
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
ROI =
With Less
Do The Same
What is ROI?
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of
Content Marketing By Objective
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Content Marketing ROI – Reach
The Value of Organic Search =
(Paid Search CPC X Organic Search Traffic)
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Content Marketing ROI – Reach
The Value of Organic Search =
($2 CPC X 1,000,000) = $2 Million
0
5,000
10,000
15,000
20,000
25,000
30,000
35,000
Organic Traffic / Social Traffic / Leads
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of
Content Marketing By Objective
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Casper’s Van
Winkles
• Effortlessly combines national
housing news with articles on
inspirational interior design,
celebrity homes and company
updates.
• Up to 6 new posts per day
• Distribution and large
audiences across Facebook,
Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter
and Google+
Casper’s Van
Winkles
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
--> Subscribers produce 38X ROI
--> Subscribers and are 9X more likely to convert
Measure The ROI of
Content Marketing By Objective
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
CapGemini: Content-Loop.com
~1M visitors in 1st year
+ 3K new followers / week
+ High Quality Leads
+ $1M Sales = 10X ROI
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement
The Value of Subscribers=
(Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement
The Value of Subscribers=
(Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
$10 Million / 400,000 = $25
10,000 subscribers x 25 = $250,000
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of
Content Marketing By Objective
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
An
“Inquiry” is
not a
“Lead!”
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Content Marketing ROI - Conversion
The Value of Content Marketing Leads =
(Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Content Marketing ROI - Conversion
The Value of Content Marketing Leads =
(Content Marketing Leads
X Conversion Rate
X Avg. Sale Price)
1,000 leads x 3% MQL
x 50% Sales Accepted (SAL)
x 50% Sales Qualified (SQL)
x 40% Closed / Won
x $180,000 Average Selling Price (ASP) = $540,000
($540,000 - $100,000) / $100,000 = 4.4X ROI
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traffic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of
Content Marketing By Objective
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
It’s 6-7X cheaper to keep an existing
customer than to acquire a new one.
A 5% increase in retention
= 95% increase in ROI.
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Content Marketing ROI:
Content consumers
spend 2x more and are 3x
more loyal.
Shane Jordan
Digital Marketing Manager
Blue Cross BlueShield of Alabama
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Content Marketing ROI - Retention
The Value of Retention=
Lifetime Value $$$
Retention Rate $$$
Rev $$$ per Content-consuming Customers
vs. Non-Content-consuming Customers
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
CEOs and Boards
will no longer
accept marketing
that doesn’t deliver
business results!
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
AGENDA
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
My Free Gift To You: http://bit.ly/content-formula
@TwitterHandle • #CMWorld
Michael Brenner
CEO, Marketing Insider Group
Author, The Content Formula
@BrennerMichael • #CMWorld
Book Me To Speak:
michael@marketinginsidergroup.com

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How To Sell Content Marketing To Executives

Hinweis der Redaktion

  1. We’ve all asked the question, why content marketing? To set the stage, there’s been a fundamental shift in the way we as consumers consume and share content. Momentous amount of content being created, consumed and shared. An amazing amount of content, the real question is how does a brand stand apart?