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#thinkppc
&HOSTED BY:
EIGHT
THINGS
YOU
DIDN’T
KNOW
ABOUT
PPC & SEO
#thinkppc
Presenters
• Erik Dafforn
– President of Intrapromote
– @erikdafforn
• Jacob Fairclough
– Account Manager at Hanapin Marketing.
– @realsecretjake
#thinkppc
Join the conversation
• Include the hashtag #thinkppc in your
Twitter tweets.
Or use the webinar question box to send
us questions.
#thinkppc
Live Poll Question #1
How long have you been in Search Marketing?
#thinkppc
A. Less than 1 year
B. 1-3 years
C. 3-5 years
D. 5+ years
#thinkppc
Live Poll Question #2
How do you manage your account(s)?
#thinkppc
a) I manage it myself.
b) I’m part of a team that manages it.
c) I outsource my account management.
d) I’m rethinking how my account is managed.
#thinkppc
PPC #1: It’s Just Keywords
• On the outside PPC is just about selecting the right
keywords, right?
– “Can’t you just add these 5,000 keywords to the account?”
• Keywords are easy though, anyone can do those!
• This view neglects CRO, ad writing, all the modifiers,
the purchase cycle, closing rates, etc.
#thinkppc
SEO #1: It's Older Than You Think
#thinkppc
SEO #1: It's Older Than You Think
#thinkppc
SEO #1: It's Older Than You Think
• Prior to the mid 90s, the Web was a mess
• Directories gave way to crawler-based engines
#thinkppc
PPC #2: You Need to Be In the Top Spots
• A lot of advertisers worry about losing top spots.
– “Won’t my CTR decrease?”
– “Won’t I lose traffic?”
– Yes you will. But…
• You don’t have to always be in the top spot to get
conversions. The top spots cost a lot more too.
#thinkppc
PPC #2 Continued
• Take a look at your metrics, segmented by position. You might
get a lot more traffic at the number 1 spot, but your CPA is
much lower in the 2 spot.
• Don’t bid higher just because you can. If you are worried
about CTR and quality score, it’s all calculated relative to
position.
#thinkppc
SEO #2: It’s Easier Than You Think
• Remember the Fundamentals!
#thinkppc
SEO #2: It’s Easier Than You Think
• Remember the Fundamentals!
Basic KPIs How to Measure
Crawling Crawler, Webmaster Tools
Indexing Webmaster Tools (Crawl >> Sitemaps)
Ranking Webmaster Tools (Search Traffic >> Search Queries),
SEO platform
Traffic Analytics (Channels)
Action Analytics (Goals, Funnels)
#thinkppc
Live Poll Question #3
How big a priority is your organic search?
#thinkppc
a) We watch it like a hawk
b) We watch it (but not like a hawk)
c) It's on the back-burner until we get time to deal with it
d) What's organic search?
#thinkppc
PPC #3: You Don’t Need to Bid on Brand
“Isn’t bidding on Brand just paying for traffic you should bring in
organically?”
• Don’t worry about it! Branded traffic is already qualified and
cheap.
• Bidding on brand allows you to take up more of the search
result space.
#thinkppc
PPC #3 Continued
• Brands are heavily favored in search results.
– Bidding on brand allows you to take the spot of
competitors who are bidding on your brand terms.
– You could see extremely low CPAs and high ROAS.
– Example: One E-Commerce client has an average CPA of
$30 and ROAS of 450%. The Brand campaign has a $1.26
CPA and an ROAS of 12,600%
– If you have a semi-known brand. Use it!
#thinkppc
SEO #3: It’s Harder Than You Think
#thinkppc
SEO #3: It’s Harder Than You Think
Advanced KPIs How to Measure
Crawling Crawl budget, robots.txt, noindex
Indexing site: command, canonical tags, parameter handling,
pagination tagging
Ranking Portfolio and keyword groups
Traffic Analytics (Landing page analysis, "not provided"
circumvention)
Action Analytics (Attribution models)
#thinkppc
PPC #4: PPC Just Doesn’t Work For Me
• Too often I see this mentioned when the advertiser
only took Google’s suggestions or used a budget of
$100 to test the waters.
• While Google tries to bring down the barrier to entry,
the game gets more and more competitive.
#thinkppc
PPC #4 Continued
• If you don’t invest in planning and organization, you
can’t expect great results.
• Don’t plan on winning right away but invest in
gaining actionable data.
• Even though PPC is heavily data driven and has a
wealth of metrics, it will always come down to being
able to interpret the data.
#thinkppc
SEO #4: It’s Not Going Anywhere
#thinkppc
SEO #4: (But It's Changing)
• 100 billion (with a "B") searches per month
• Are you ready for mobile?
• Are you an expert?
#thinkppc
Bonus Fact: You CAN Do Both
• Intrapromote webinars
• Hanapin webinars
• Slideshare
• YouTube
#thinkppc
Live Poll Question #4
a.) FREE Account Assessment from Hanapin
(for accounts spending more than 20K/mo)
b.) Free hour-long SEO consultation with Intrapromote
c.) Both
d.) No Thanks
Would you like help with your PPC/SEO
accounts and management? I’m interested in:
#thinkppc
Live Q&A Time!
#thinkppc
Have more questions?
Thank you for attending our webinar! #thinkppc
• Contact us Directly:
» Hanapin Feedback: marketing@hanapinmarketing.com
Intrapromote Feedback: erik@intrapromote.com

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Eight Things You Didn't Know About PPC & SEO

  • 2. #thinkppc Presenters • Erik Dafforn – President of Intrapromote – @erikdafforn • Jacob Fairclough – Account Manager at Hanapin Marketing. – @realsecretjake
  • 3. #thinkppc Join the conversation • Include the hashtag #thinkppc in your Twitter tweets. Or use the webinar question box to send us questions.
  • 4. #thinkppc Live Poll Question #1 How long have you been in Search Marketing? #thinkppc A. Less than 1 year B. 1-3 years C. 3-5 years D. 5+ years
  • 5. #thinkppc Live Poll Question #2 How do you manage your account(s)? #thinkppc a) I manage it myself. b) I’m part of a team that manages it. c) I outsource my account management. d) I’m rethinking how my account is managed.
  • 6. #thinkppc PPC #1: It’s Just Keywords • On the outside PPC is just about selecting the right keywords, right? – “Can’t you just add these 5,000 keywords to the account?” • Keywords are easy though, anyone can do those! • This view neglects CRO, ad writing, all the modifiers, the purchase cycle, closing rates, etc.
  • 7. #thinkppc SEO #1: It's Older Than You Think
  • 8. #thinkppc SEO #1: It's Older Than You Think
  • 9. #thinkppc SEO #1: It's Older Than You Think • Prior to the mid 90s, the Web was a mess • Directories gave way to crawler-based engines
  • 10. #thinkppc PPC #2: You Need to Be In the Top Spots • A lot of advertisers worry about losing top spots. – “Won’t my CTR decrease?” – “Won’t I lose traffic?” – Yes you will. But… • You don’t have to always be in the top spot to get conversions. The top spots cost a lot more too.
  • 11. #thinkppc PPC #2 Continued • Take a look at your metrics, segmented by position. You might get a lot more traffic at the number 1 spot, but your CPA is much lower in the 2 spot. • Don’t bid higher just because you can. If you are worried about CTR and quality score, it’s all calculated relative to position.
  • 12. #thinkppc SEO #2: It’s Easier Than You Think • Remember the Fundamentals!
  • 13. #thinkppc SEO #2: It’s Easier Than You Think • Remember the Fundamentals! Basic KPIs How to Measure Crawling Crawler, Webmaster Tools Indexing Webmaster Tools (Crawl >> Sitemaps) Ranking Webmaster Tools (Search Traffic >> Search Queries), SEO platform Traffic Analytics (Channels) Action Analytics (Goals, Funnels)
  • 14. #thinkppc Live Poll Question #3 How big a priority is your organic search? #thinkppc a) We watch it like a hawk b) We watch it (but not like a hawk) c) It's on the back-burner until we get time to deal with it d) What's organic search?
  • 15. #thinkppc PPC #3: You Don’t Need to Bid on Brand “Isn’t bidding on Brand just paying for traffic you should bring in organically?” • Don’t worry about it! Branded traffic is already qualified and cheap. • Bidding on brand allows you to take up more of the search result space.
  • 16. #thinkppc PPC #3 Continued • Brands are heavily favored in search results. – Bidding on brand allows you to take the spot of competitors who are bidding on your brand terms. – You could see extremely low CPAs and high ROAS. – Example: One E-Commerce client has an average CPA of $30 and ROAS of 450%. The Brand campaign has a $1.26 CPA and an ROAS of 12,600% – If you have a semi-known brand. Use it!
  • 17. #thinkppc SEO #3: It’s Harder Than You Think
  • 18. #thinkppc SEO #3: It’s Harder Than You Think Advanced KPIs How to Measure Crawling Crawl budget, robots.txt, noindex Indexing site: command, canonical tags, parameter handling, pagination tagging Ranking Portfolio and keyword groups Traffic Analytics (Landing page analysis, "not provided" circumvention) Action Analytics (Attribution models)
  • 19. #thinkppc PPC #4: PPC Just Doesn’t Work For Me • Too often I see this mentioned when the advertiser only took Google’s suggestions or used a budget of $100 to test the waters. • While Google tries to bring down the barrier to entry, the game gets more and more competitive.
  • 20. #thinkppc PPC #4 Continued • If you don’t invest in planning and organization, you can’t expect great results. • Don’t plan on winning right away but invest in gaining actionable data. • Even though PPC is heavily data driven and has a wealth of metrics, it will always come down to being able to interpret the data.
  • 21. #thinkppc SEO #4: It’s Not Going Anywhere
  • 22. #thinkppc SEO #4: (But It's Changing) • 100 billion (with a "B") searches per month • Are you ready for mobile? • Are you an expert?
  • 23. #thinkppc Bonus Fact: You CAN Do Both • Intrapromote webinars • Hanapin webinars • Slideshare • YouTube
  • 24. #thinkppc Live Poll Question #4 a.) FREE Account Assessment from Hanapin (for accounts spending more than 20K/mo) b.) Free hour-long SEO consultation with Intrapromote c.) Both d.) No Thanks Would you like help with your PPC/SEO accounts and management? I’m interested in:
  • 26. #thinkppc Have more questions? Thank you for attending our webinar! #thinkppc • Contact us Directly: » Hanapin Feedback: marketing@hanapinmarketing.com Intrapromote Feedback: erik@intrapromote.com

Hinweis der Redaktion

  1. Carrie
  2. Carrie – Introduce myself and then Susan talks about herself
  3. Carrie (unless Susan really wants to)
  4. Carrie does #1
  5. Susan does question #2
  6. Carrie reads/reports results, transition to RLSA strategy slide
  7. LEAVE OPEN IN Q&A