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MEDIA BUYING
TV, Digital, Out-of-Home
TV Buying
• Step 1: Request Avails
  • Provide stations with a request for “avails” or available inventory
    and pricing.
  • Include timing, target audience, desired dayparts
  • Set a deadline
• Example:
  • Client: Whole Foods
  • Campaign: Summer Grill Out
  • Length: :30
  • Timing: May 20 – June 30, 2013 (6 weeks)
  • Target: Women 35 - 54
  • Dayparts: EM, EN, PA, PT, LN
Dayparts
• Early Morning (EM) – 5am to 9am
• Daytime (DT) – 9am to 4:30pm
• Early Fringe (EF) – 4:30pm to 7pm
• Evening News (EN) – 5pm to 7pm
• Prime Access (PA) – 7pm to 8pm
• Primetime (PT) – 8pm to 11pm
  • On Sundays, Primetime is 7pm to 11pm
• Late News (LN) – 11pm to 11:30pm
• Late Fringe (LF) – 11:30pm to 1am
• Overnight – 1am to 5am
Dayparts
• Early Morning (EM) – 5am to 9am
• Daytime (DT) – 9am to 4:30pm
• Early Fringe (EF) – 4:30pm to 7pm
                                           Overlap
• Evening News (EN) – 5pm to 7pm
• Prime Access (PA) – 7pm to 8pm
• Primetime (PT) – 8pm to 11pm
  • On Sundays, Primetime is 7pm to 11pm
• Late News (LN) – 11pm to 11:30pm
• Late Fringe (LF) – 11:30pm to 1am
• Overnight – 1am to 5am
TV Buying
• Step 2: Draft plan
  • Set daypart GRP and budget goals
    • Use overall budget range and estimated total GRPS
    • $65,000 budget, 4 weeks, 600 GRPs
    • EM – 20%, PA – 10%, EN – 20%, PT – 40%, LN – 10%
    • EM Goal – $13,000 budget, 120 GRPs
    • PA Goal - $6,500 budget, 60 GRPs


  • Get plan as close to ideal
    • Try to hit GRP goal first – cost can be negotiated


  • Call back reps to negotiate
TV Buying
• Step 3: Negotiate
  • Using CPP as comparison
    • “I’m buying prime access around $50-$60 CPP. You are currently at $75
      CPP. I need you to bring in the rate to be considered on the buy.”
    • Ex. Access Hollywood, 4.5 rating, $340 cost
       • $75.55 CPP – need to be under $60 CPP
       • Adjust rate to $275 gets it to $61 CPP (cut $65 off rate or about 19%)
  • Rate that will “clear”
    • Get a rate that will not get kicked out by another advertiser



• Step 4: Contract / Reserve spots
Radio Buying
• Same as TV
  • Request Avails
  • Set Budget / GRP Goals
  • Negotiate
  • Place Buy
• Dayparts slightly different
  • AM – Morning Drive 6am – 10am
  • MD – Midday 10am – 3pm
  • PM – Afternoon Drive 3pm – 6pm
  • Evening – 7pm – 12mid
  • Overnights – 12mid – 6am
  • Rotators – all day, 6am-6pm
Radio Buying
• Same as TV
  • Request Avails
  • Set Budget / GRP Goals
  • Negotiate
  • Place Buy
• Dayparts slightly different
  • AM – Morning Drive 6am – 10am    Majority of buys
  • MD – Midday 10am – 3pm           purchased in
  • PM – Afternoon Drive 3pm – 6pm   these dayparts

  • Evening – 7pm – 12mid
  • Overnights – 12mid – 6am
  • Rotators – all day, 6am-6pm
Digital Buying
• Typically based on impressions, although can be purchased on
  a monthly basis.
• CPM rates – can be negotiated
  • $10 CPM
  • 50,000 impressions = $500     ($10 x 50 = $500)
  • Rates vary based on ad type
• Share of Voice – SOV
  • Based on site inventory, historical impression levels
  • Ex. WRAL has an average 108 million monthly impressions
  • 10% SOV is 10.8M impressions
• Focus on a page and try to have a good presence there
   • Home Page
   • News
   • Weather
Digital ad placements

                        Leaderboard



                                Med Rectangle
Digital ad placements
                               Interactive Advertising Bureau
160x600      300x600           IAB.net – Rising Stars
Skyscraper   Wide Skyscraper   • Billboard
                               • Filmstrip
                               • Slider
                               • Pushdown
Digital Buying
• Ad networks
• Geo-, Demo-, Contextual Targeting
Digital Buying
• Pay Per Click
  • Search advertising
    • Set daily budgets
    • Set cost per click



• Reporting
  • CTR (click through ratio) – Used to measure engagement of the ad
  • Impressions – Measurement of opportunity to see the ad / served
    by ad server
  • Analytics
    • Specialize in analytics / tracking of digital advertising
Out-of-Home Buying
• Billboards
  • Traditional (Static)
  • Mobile
  • Digital
  • Tri-vision
• Transit (subway, bus, taxi)
• Guerilla outdoor


Based on availability
Long term contracts (3 month minimum)
Frequency medium
Out-of-Home Buying
• Request board availability
• Can be purchased individually or in terms of “showing”
  • 50 showing = 50% reach of the market
  • 25 showing = 25% reach of the market
• Production/Printing extra
• Measurements
  • DEC – Daily Effective Circulation
    • Used to compare boards for traffic numbers
  • EOI – Eyes On Impressions
    • Adopted in 2011, revised ratings system. Adjusts for different types of
      outdoor.
Out-of-Home Buying
• Choosing boards
  • Traffic patterns
  • Visibility
  • Cost
• Reporting
  • Proof of performance (picture of board)
  • Attribute direct URL to outdoor
• Creative
  • Large impact
  • Short messaging
  • Some of the more creative advertising executions

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Media buying 2.13.13

  • 2. TV Buying • Step 1: Request Avails • Provide stations with a request for “avails” or available inventory and pricing. • Include timing, target audience, desired dayparts • Set a deadline • Example: • Client: Whole Foods • Campaign: Summer Grill Out • Length: :30 • Timing: May 20 – June 30, 2013 (6 weeks) • Target: Women 35 - 54 • Dayparts: EM, EN, PA, PT, LN
  • 3. Dayparts • Early Morning (EM) – 5am to 9am • Daytime (DT) – 9am to 4:30pm • Early Fringe (EF) – 4:30pm to 7pm • Evening News (EN) – 5pm to 7pm • Prime Access (PA) – 7pm to 8pm • Primetime (PT) – 8pm to 11pm • On Sundays, Primetime is 7pm to 11pm • Late News (LN) – 11pm to 11:30pm • Late Fringe (LF) – 11:30pm to 1am • Overnight – 1am to 5am
  • 4. Dayparts • Early Morning (EM) – 5am to 9am • Daytime (DT) – 9am to 4:30pm • Early Fringe (EF) – 4:30pm to 7pm Overlap • Evening News (EN) – 5pm to 7pm • Prime Access (PA) – 7pm to 8pm • Primetime (PT) – 8pm to 11pm • On Sundays, Primetime is 7pm to 11pm • Late News (LN) – 11pm to 11:30pm • Late Fringe (LF) – 11:30pm to 1am • Overnight – 1am to 5am
  • 5. TV Buying • Step 2: Draft plan • Set daypart GRP and budget goals • Use overall budget range and estimated total GRPS • $65,000 budget, 4 weeks, 600 GRPs • EM – 20%, PA – 10%, EN – 20%, PT – 40%, LN – 10% • EM Goal – $13,000 budget, 120 GRPs • PA Goal - $6,500 budget, 60 GRPs • Get plan as close to ideal • Try to hit GRP goal first – cost can be negotiated • Call back reps to negotiate
  • 6. TV Buying • Step 3: Negotiate • Using CPP as comparison • “I’m buying prime access around $50-$60 CPP. You are currently at $75 CPP. I need you to bring in the rate to be considered on the buy.” • Ex. Access Hollywood, 4.5 rating, $340 cost • $75.55 CPP – need to be under $60 CPP • Adjust rate to $275 gets it to $61 CPP (cut $65 off rate or about 19%) • Rate that will “clear” • Get a rate that will not get kicked out by another advertiser • Step 4: Contract / Reserve spots
  • 7. Radio Buying • Same as TV • Request Avails • Set Budget / GRP Goals • Negotiate • Place Buy • Dayparts slightly different • AM – Morning Drive 6am – 10am • MD – Midday 10am – 3pm • PM – Afternoon Drive 3pm – 6pm • Evening – 7pm – 12mid • Overnights – 12mid – 6am • Rotators – all day, 6am-6pm
  • 8. Radio Buying • Same as TV • Request Avails • Set Budget / GRP Goals • Negotiate • Place Buy • Dayparts slightly different • AM – Morning Drive 6am – 10am Majority of buys • MD – Midday 10am – 3pm purchased in • PM – Afternoon Drive 3pm – 6pm these dayparts • Evening – 7pm – 12mid • Overnights – 12mid – 6am • Rotators – all day, 6am-6pm
  • 9. Digital Buying • Typically based on impressions, although can be purchased on a monthly basis. • CPM rates – can be negotiated • $10 CPM • 50,000 impressions = $500 ($10 x 50 = $500) • Rates vary based on ad type • Share of Voice – SOV • Based on site inventory, historical impression levels • Ex. WRAL has an average 108 million monthly impressions • 10% SOV is 10.8M impressions • Focus on a page and try to have a good presence there • Home Page • News • Weather
  • 10. Digital ad placements Leaderboard Med Rectangle
  • 11. Digital ad placements Interactive Advertising Bureau 160x600 300x600 IAB.net – Rising Stars Skyscraper Wide Skyscraper • Billboard • Filmstrip • Slider • Pushdown
  • 12. Digital Buying • Ad networks • Geo-, Demo-, Contextual Targeting
  • 13. Digital Buying • Pay Per Click • Search advertising • Set daily budgets • Set cost per click • Reporting • CTR (click through ratio) – Used to measure engagement of the ad • Impressions – Measurement of opportunity to see the ad / served by ad server • Analytics • Specialize in analytics / tracking of digital advertising
  • 14. Out-of-Home Buying • Billboards • Traditional (Static) • Mobile • Digital • Tri-vision • Transit (subway, bus, taxi) • Guerilla outdoor Based on availability Long term contracts (3 month minimum) Frequency medium
  • 15. Out-of-Home Buying • Request board availability • Can be purchased individually or in terms of “showing” • 50 showing = 50% reach of the market • 25 showing = 25% reach of the market • Production/Printing extra • Measurements • DEC – Daily Effective Circulation • Used to compare boards for traffic numbers • EOI – Eyes On Impressions • Adopted in 2011, revised ratings system. Adjusts for different types of outdoor.
  • 16. Out-of-Home Buying • Choosing boards • Traffic patterns • Visibility • Cost • Reporting • Proof of performance (picture of board) • Attribute direct URL to outdoor • Creative • Large impact • Short messaging • Some of the more creative advertising executions