The document provides an overview of setting up and optimizing a Facebook ads campaign, including requirements for ads, common objectives and ad formats, how to set a budget and target audiences, and metrics for measuring a campaign's performance such as click-through rate and cost per click. It also offers tips for testing ads and repeating campaigns after analyzing what content and audiences perform best.
2. Digital Marketing
Specialist
I work with a variety of digital marketing channels,
Facebook ads is one of them.
I specifically help SMEs with budgets of up to €10k. !
I can help you …
• Decide if Facebook is the best tactic for your
business
• Make the most of your marketing budget with
Facebook Ads
5. Before Starting a
Campaign
• Requirements
• Common Strategies
Today’s Game Plan
Setting Up a
Campaign
• Budget
• Objective
• Ad Formats
• Bidding
• Audience
Measuring a
Campaign
• Monitor
• Optimize
• Repeat!
6. Process
Create a
Facebook
Business Page
and Set Up Ad
Manager
Set Up a
Campaign
Facebook
Reviews Ads
Ad is Approved
and Published
Ads Runs
Analyze Ad
Performance
Repeat .. but
BeCer!
*
Set up
Facebook Pixel
9. ✅ Must have a Facebook Business Page –
regardless number of followers
✅ Must have a credit card on file (Ad Manager)
✅ Must abide by Facebook’s policies
MUST HAVE Before Starting
https://www.facebook.com/policies/ads/
10. • Tobacco
• Drugs – illegal
• Weapons and explosives
• “Adult” products
• Multilevel marketing
• Diet and weight-loss products
• Surveillance equipment
• Short-term loans
• Spyware
! Prohibited Ad Content
Restricted Topics
• Alcohol
• Dating services
• Lotteries and gambling
• Drugs – over the counter
and prescription
• Social issues and politics
• Financial services
• Cryptocurrencies
Facebook will not approve ads related to these topics.
11. • Sensational content
• Shocking, scary or violent images
• Controversial political or social issues
• Bad grammar and punctuation.
• Minimal numbers and symbols.
• Low quality or non-functional landing page
• Mention of third-parties
• Excessive text (more than 20%) in ad images
Ads and Landing Page
Regardless of the topic, Facebook has quality standards.
• Personal attributes
• Use the word “other”
✅ Gay Dance Club
❎ Meet Other Lesbians
• Personalise to user
✅ Depression Counseling
❎ Is depression getting you down?
12. ✅ Enable Facebook Pixels
✅ Have a strategy and objective
✅ Have solid offerings and a foundation
GOOD TO HAVE Before Starting
13. A code that you ad to your website <header> to track
users using cookies.
What does it do?
• Track conversions from Facebook Ads.
• Build highly targeted audiences for future ads, AKA
lookalike audiences.
• Remarket people who have already interacted with
your website.
• Allows you to track specific events, or “actions”.
Facebook Pixel
15. ✅ Promote a product or service – retarget
✅ Drive traffic to a webpage
✅ Prompt people to visit a physical business location
or an in-person event
✅ Increase your page followers*
The goal is to reach potential clients, and initiate a
relationship.
Common Strategies
16. ✅ Suitable Audience
✅ Good Product, Service or Content
The foundation for a good
advertising campaign is …
17. Facebook Ads is not a magic pill. !
It is an amplifier.
If you forget everything
else, remember this.
18. ⛔ Just launched a completely new
website or Facebook page
⛔ Just launched a brand new product
⛔ Just enabled Facebook Pixels
Not Recommended if You …
19. It takes time and money for
every business to find their
sweet spot. !
22. Campaign Structure
Clothes Winter 2020
Campaign
Portugal
Ad Set
Shirts
Ad
Trousers
Ad
Socks
Ad
Spain
Ad Set
Shirts
Ad
Trousers
Ad
Socks
Ad
Italy
Ad Set
Shirts
Ad
Trousers
Ad
Socks
Ad
23. Campaign Structure
Clothes Winter 2020
Campaign
Portugal
Ad Set
Shirts
Ad
Trousers
Ad
Socks
Ad
Spain
Ad Set
Shirts
Ad
Trousers
Ad
Socks
Ad
Italy
Ad Set
Shirts
Ad
Trousers
Ad
Socks
Ad
26. When you run an ad, you pay for either clicks or impressions.
CPC: Cost per Click
CPM: Cost per Mile or Cost per 1000 Impressions
The cost is never a fixed rate.
It depends on a gazillion factors, and how much you are willing to bid.
The minimum you can spend is €1 per day.
How much do
Facebook Ads cost?
27. 1. The audience you are targeting
2. The time of year
3. Your campaign objective
4. The engagement levels and relevance score of your ad
5. The maturity of your Facebook pixel
What affects the
costs?
28. The more developed and tech savvy the country
or market, the more expensive the CPC.
The older the demographic, the more expensive
the CPC.
29. CPC for females are generally higher. CPC is highest around holiday season –
influenced by bidding.
31. So many marketers have a slightly different answer to this
question.
Some say you should spend €1 a day for every 100
monthly website visitors.
Most say it depends on your CPA and CLV.
“How much money
should I spend on
Facebook Ads?” !
32. You will probably lose money on ads in the beginning but to make sure you
make money in the long run, you need to understand your CPA and CLV and
use them as benchmarks.
CPA: Cost per Acquisition
CLV: Customer Lifetime Value
Understand Your CPA
and CLV
33. Let’s say you are selling books for €25.
After running some tests, you get 1 sale for every 30 clicks and your average
CPC is €1.
Average No. Clicks per Sale x CPC = CPA
30 x €1 = €30
You lost money from this ad and sale, at least €5.
Cost per Acquisition (CPA)
34. Let’s say you run a retargeting ad, and this time the CPA is €5.
The ad successfully brings a former customer back to your website and they
buy another book for €25.
In order to sell €50 in books, you had to spend a total of €35 per customer
(total CPA) in ads. You made €15!
At this point, the customer will no longer go through ads and buy directly from
your website.
Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)
35. After acquiring a customer from ads, let’s say the customer sticks around for a
year and buys 3 more books.
Average Sale x No. of Sales per Year x No. of Years as a Customer = CLV
€25 per book x 5 books a year x 1 year as a customer = €125
CLV – Total CPA = Profit or ROI
€125 – €35 = €90
Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)
36. Use your CPA and CLV as benchmarks.
Use your CLV to calculate how many customers or sales you
need.
Then use your CPA to calculate how much you need to
spend to convert X amount of customers.
“How much money
should I spend on
Facebook Ads?”
38. Key Points
• The cost increases from
one category to the next.
• Objectives in the
“Awareness” category are
charged by impressions,
not clicks.
• Test with Engagement to
see if they interact, or
Brand/Reach if you are in it
for the long-run.
Choose an objective that aligns with
your overall strategy and goal.
39. • Promote an in-person event.
• Increase traffic on a strategic blog post.
• Acquire email subscribers.
• Increase sales for a product.
• Increase engagement on a post.
• Test ads and your audience.
Which Facebook Ad objective would you choose?
40. Link Click Ads (Standard)
• Increase website traffic
• Capture leads like email subscribers – but not sales leads
Video Ads
• Show people how your product works.
• Up to 4GB, 120 min but optimal time is 30-90 sec
Boost Post (Standard)
• Boost posts that are well-performing organically
Carousel Ads
• Content marketers that want to promote multiple posts
Ad Formats – Drive Traffic
41. Ad Formats – Drive Traffic
Notice how the ads use short copy, and the images/videos have very little text. Instead the
multimedia SHOWS you what you can expect if you were to click.
42. Ad Formats – Drive Traffic and Leads (non-sales)
If you are using ads to fill a funnel and get email subscribers, again show people what they can
expect. Mock ups are great!
43. Carousel Ads
• eCommerce to promote multiple products
Dynamic Product Ads
• Like carousel, but remarketing. Customized
to user data, and shows items user has seen
and similar.
• Must have FB pixel and product catalog
uploaded.
Lead Generation Ads
• Capture information through built-in landing
page.
Ad Formats – Sales
Canvas Ads
• For Mobile, like carousel but more
interactive and dynamic
• Load 10 times faster than standard
ads
Collection Ads
• For Mobile, advertise collection of
products. Video or image
45. Page Like Ads
• Get more likes on your FB page
Page Post / Video / Text Ads
• Encourage likes through
• Photos
• Video
• Text
• No CTA
Ad Formats – Engagement
46. Ad Formats – Engagement
Notice how there is no call to action? Oprah doesn’t want you to do anything but watch the
video and engage.
47. Event Ads
• Promote event on FB page
Offer Ads
• Offer discount and coupons to people in your area.
• Click ad and get an email with code to bring to physical store.
• Need at least 50 likes on your FB page.
Local Awareness Ads
• Like offer, except the CTA is to call or send message.
Ad Formats – Physical Visits or
Events
50. “Which bid should I
use?”
When starting, it’s safer to just go with
lowest cost.
Lowest costs is automatic, and
Facebook will bid the lowest possible
cost per click.
52. • Custom and Lookalike
• Interest Based
• Remarketing Ads
We will focus on the custom and interest based
audiences.
There are 3 types of audience targeting.
53. Remember I said Facebook is a great amplifier? !
When you create a custom audience, you are giving Facebook user data
and telling Facebook to target those specific users.
A lookalike audience uses the data from your custom audience to predict
“lookalikes” to expand your reach based on proven pattern behaviours.
Create a Custom & Lookalike Audience
58. Lookalike Audience !
You must have a somewhat mature Facebook Pixel,
otherwise Facebook has very little to work with.
This is why you need a strong foundation.
59. Interest Based Audience
• Least Reliable
• Not based on users that are already
interacting with you.
• Based on your knowledge of your
users.
• If you don’t have a mature source or
Pixel, this is your only option.
• Tips to Reduce Guesswork
• Be specific as possible
• Look at Google Analytics
• Exclude people
• Choose active connections and fan
pages
61. Remember, when you start using
Facebook Ads you are looking for the
sweet spot. !
You want to study what works on your audience, and what doesn’t.
What makes them stop scrolling and click?
62. What To Look For !
Ideally, you want to have a high engagement or click
through rate but a low CPC.
But you also want to study and test the differences
between different demographics.