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Measuring the Business Impact 
of Web Performance 
1 
Buddy Brewer [@bbrewer]
2
5 
Why Care About Performance? 
Slow load times damage traffic and sales
5 
Why Care About Performance? 
Slow load times also damage reputation
5 
Performance isn’t just one simple number 
Web sites deliver good and bad experiences every day
6 
How Should I Approach Performance? 
Performance optimization in three steps 
How fast am I? How fast should I be? How do I get there?
7 
How fast should I be? 
The industry has lagged here
4 
What is Real User Measurement? 
JavaScript-based Real User Performance 
Analytics
8 
Tracking Conversions 
What’s a “Conversion”? 
Orders 
Shares, Likes, Comments 
Page Views 
Subscriptions 
Signups 
Dealer Locators 
Game Item Purchase
9 
Measuring the impact of speed on business 
Example 1: Impact of speed on conversion rate
9 
Measuring the impact of speed on business 
Example 2: Impact of speed on bounce rate
10 
This Means We Can Measure Patience 
And if we can measure it, we can manage it
11 
Example 
Time range: 1 month 
Median Load Time: 4.12 
Visits: 25M 
Conversion Rate: 2.7% 
Average Order: $100
12 
Can We Do Better? 
Speed increases drive business improvements 
Median Load Time: 4.12s 
Total Conversion Rate: 2.7% 
Conversion Rate @ 3.0s: 4.9%
12 
Faster pages convert more frequently 
4.12 sec 
2.7% 
3.0 sec 
4.9%
13 
What Are We Playing For? 
Impact is Measurable and Significant 
Total Conversion Rate: 2.7% 
Best Case Conversion Rate: 4.9% 
Conversion Gap: 2.2% 
Visits: 25M 
AOV: $100
14 
What Are We Playing For? 
Impact is Measurable and Significant 
(4.9% - 2.7%) * 25M * $100 = 
$55M
15 
What Are We Playing For? 
Impact is Measurable and Significant 
1 second = $55M
19 
BUT
12 
Potential vs Realistic Goals 
Impossible to achieve ideal speed at 100th percentile 
Median Load Time: 4.12s 
Total Conversion Rate: 2.7% 
Conversion Rate @ 3.0s: 4.9%
13 
Refining Performance Goals 
We can make these more realistic and iterative 
Target Load Time: 4 sec (vs 3 sec) 
Percentile at 4 sec: 49 
Target Percentile: 60th 
Percentile Gap: 11%
14 
What Are We Playing For? 
Impact is Measurable and Significant 
(4.9% - 2.7%) * (11% * 25M) * $100 = $6M
Improving from 
4.12 sec @ 50th percentile 
to 
4.0 sec @ 60th percentile 
= 
$6M / month
100% data collection 
Stored forever 
Processed in real time 
Correlated to things that matter
© 2014 SOASTA CONFIDENTIAL - All rights reserved. 26
8 
Customer Spotlight - Staples 
Performance improvements lead to business gains 
mPulse data led to changes in JavaScript, CSS 
Reduced JavaScript size by 48% 
Refactored CSS, reduced size by 83% 
Shaved 1 full second off of Home page median load time 
Shaved 6 seconds off the 98th percentile 
Conversion improved by 10%
28 
Free Speed Assessment 
www.soasta.com/performance

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How to measure the business impact of web performance

  • 1. Measuring the Business Impact of Web Performance 1 Buddy Brewer [@bbrewer]
  • 2. 2
  • 3. 5 Why Care About Performance? Slow load times damage traffic and sales
  • 4. 5 Why Care About Performance? Slow load times also damage reputation
  • 5. 5 Performance isn’t just one simple number Web sites deliver good and bad experiences every day
  • 6. 6 How Should I Approach Performance? Performance optimization in three steps How fast am I? How fast should I be? How do I get there?
  • 7. 7 How fast should I be? The industry has lagged here
  • 8. 4 What is Real User Measurement? JavaScript-based Real User Performance Analytics
  • 9. 8 Tracking Conversions What’s a “Conversion”? Orders Shares, Likes, Comments Page Views Subscriptions Signups Dealer Locators Game Item Purchase
  • 10. 9 Measuring the impact of speed on business Example 1: Impact of speed on conversion rate
  • 11. 9 Measuring the impact of speed on business Example 2: Impact of speed on bounce rate
  • 12. 10 This Means We Can Measure Patience And if we can measure it, we can manage it
  • 13. 11 Example Time range: 1 month Median Load Time: 4.12 Visits: 25M Conversion Rate: 2.7% Average Order: $100
  • 14. 12 Can We Do Better? Speed increases drive business improvements Median Load Time: 4.12s Total Conversion Rate: 2.7% Conversion Rate @ 3.0s: 4.9%
  • 15. 12 Faster pages convert more frequently 4.12 sec 2.7% 3.0 sec 4.9%
  • 16. 13 What Are We Playing For? Impact is Measurable and Significant Total Conversion Rate: 2.7% Best Case Conversion Rate: 4.9% Conversion Gap: 2.2% Visits: 25M AOV: $100
  • 17. 14 What Are We Playing For? Impact is Measurable and Significant (4.9% - 2.7%) * 25M * $100 = $55M
  • 18. 15 What Are We Playing For? Impact is Measurable and Significant 1 second = $55M
  • 20. 12 Potential vs Realistic Goals Impossible to achieve ideal speed at 100th percentile Median Load Time: 4.12s Total Conversion Rate: 2.7% Conversion Rate @ 3.0s: 4.9%
  • 21. 13 Refining Performance Goals We can make these more realistic and iterative Target Load Time: 4 sec (vs 3 sec) Percentile at 4 sec: 49 Target Percentile: 60th Percentile Gap: 11%
  • 22. 14 What Are We Playing For? Impact is Measurable and Significant (4.9% - 2.7%) * (11% * 25M) * $100 = $6M
  • 23. Improving from 4.12 sec @ 50th percentile to 4.0 sec @ 60th percentile = $6M / month
  • 24.
  • 25. 100% data collection Stored forever Processed in real time Correlated to things that matter
  • 26. © 2014 SOASTA CONFIDENTIAL - All rights reserved. 26
  • 27. 8 Customer Spotlight - Staples Performance improvements lead to business gains mPulse data led to changes in JavaScript, CSS Reduced JavaScript size by 48% Refactored CSS, reduced size by 83% Shaved 1 full second off of Home page median load time Shaved 6 seconds off the 98th percentile Conversion improved by 10%
  • 28. 28 Free Speed Assessment www.soasta.com/performance